How to Use Secret Boards on Pinterest
If you’ve ever wanted to pin something on Pinterest, but wanted to restrict what you pin to a select audience, you’re in luck. Pinterest has a really cool feature called “secret boards” which limits visibility to only the creator and any partners the creator may invite. You can use secret boards to plan events or projects at work, and to store gift ideas for birthdays, anniversaries and holidays. Today we will show you how to create secret Pinterest boards.
How to Use Secret Boards on Pinterest
When you add a Pin to a secret board, it won’t show up on Pinterest in the category sections, search results, your followers’ home feed, your own home feed or even the Pins section of your profile. One word of caution — you can only switch from “off” to “on” one time on private boards before it becomes permanent. And you can’t make existing boards secret because others may have already repinned on them.
Remember, you can’t edit a public board to make it secret. You can only create new secret boards. Your secret boards are at the bottom of your profile. Just scroll down to see them.
How to create a new secret Pinterest board (It’s on the bottom of your profile)
1) Click your name at the top of Pinterest.
2) Scroll to the bottom of your profile.
3) Click Create a secret board.
4) The secret setting will already be set to Yes—this means your board is secret.
5) Choose a name and category for your board and click Create Board.
Any time you’re adding a new board, you can switch the secret setting to from No to Yes to make it a secret board. But you can’t make an existing public board secret.
If you don’t invite anyone to your secret Pinterest boards
1) Only you can see your secret boards and Pins.
2) Only you can see comments you make on your secret Pins.
3) You won’t see secret Pins on your home feed or in the Pins section of your profile—you have to go to your secret board to see its Pins.
4) Followers can’t see your secret Pins in their feeds.
5) People can’t see your secret boards on your profile page.
6) People can only see the number of public boards, Pins and likes on your profile page.
7) Secret boards and secret Pins won’t appear in public areas of Pinterest, such as search results, category feeds, etc.
You can always make a secret board public but you can’t undo this!
1) Go to the board and click Edit.
2) Turn the secret setting from Yes to No.
3) Save Changes and confirm that you want to make the board public.
When you make a secret board public
1) People who follow all your boards will be added as followers to your newly visible board.
2) People can see all of the board’s Pins and can Pin, like or comment on them.
3) Current Pins won’t be added to the top of your followers’ feeds, but any new Pins will.
4) Pins will show in search results, categories, etc.
When you make a secret group board public
1) People can see all the group Pinners and their comments on the board.
2) People can see the board on all the group Pinners’ profiles and follow it.
Inviting people to a secret group board
If you and another Pinner are following each other, you can invite them to a group board.
1) Go to your secret board and click Edit.
2) Enter the person’s first and last name (or email address) under Who can add Pins?
3) Click their name once it comes up.
4) Repeat for any other people you’d like to add.
5) Click Save Changes.
What group Pinners can and can’t do on a secret board
1) Only the board creator can make the secret board public. No other person can change this setting.
2) Invited Pinners can see the secret board and its Pins.
3) People who decline a secret board invite won’t be able to see the board anymore. If they try to go to the board’s URL, they’ll see an error message. If they declined by mistake, the board creator should remove their invitation and invite them again.
4) Invited Pinners can ask to invite other people to the board. Only the board creator can approve or remove invites.
5) People who accept an invite can add and like Pins. They can also Pin things from the secret board to other boards, but these Pins and likes won’t show information about the secret board or link back to the secret board.
6) Group Pinners can’t see each other’s secret Pins in their home feeds.
Note: The board creator can turn off the secret setting at any time without anyone’s permission. If the board creator changes the secret setting of the board to visible, we’ll send an email to everyone on the board.