Tag Results

Lesson to all social marketers: don’t buy fake fans, or your clients could end up like rapper Mase who lost 1.6 MILLION Instagram followers (his account was soon after deleted). He was not the only one. We’ve got the list of the top 100 Celebrities that lost the most Instagram followers during the Instagram purge. The person in charge of their Instagram account will be answering some tough questions for sure.

Celebrities That Lost the Most Instagram Followers

Below is the list of the biggest losers in the recent Instagram Purge.

Instagram 18.8 Million (30%)

Justin Bieber 3.5 Million (15%)

Ariana Grande 1.5 Million (7%)

Kim Kardashian 1.3 Million (5.5%)




Rhianna 1.1 Million (8%)

Taylor Swift 725,000 (4.4%)

Selena Gomez 1.1 Million (5.7%)

Instagram purge 2014

Notice who’s number 1? Of course, it’s Instagram. Fake followers flock to easy targets. This includes celebrities and big brands. Some of these celebs community managers did not buy fake fans. There are tons of fake and spam accounts out there in social media that follow accounts just to lend credibility to their accounts.

We can’t blame this issue only on the community managers. The names behind the brands need to take ownership of their Social Media Identity. If you are a brand/business who has someone managing them, you need to monitor, demand reporting, and ask where fans came from. If you see a sudden spike, ask for an analytics report. Spend a few minutes on your account. Check out the different systems that will tell you if your followers are fake. It will save you embarrassment and get you a real view into the health of your brand.

This issue here is not only specific to celebrities or to Instagram. Twitter is riddled with fake/spam accounts (followed by Facebook & Pinterest)

Rapper Mase shut down his Instagram account after it dropped from the millions to a mere 200,000

Here’s the list of the top 100 celebrities that lost the most Instagram followers during the purge.

Rank

Who

Type

Username

Followers Before

Followers After

Lost Followers

Percent of Total

1 Instagram Brand instagram 64,131,228 45,251,017 18,880,211 29.44%
2 Chiragchirag78 chiragchirag78 3,660,468 8 3,660,460 100.00%
3 Justin Bieber Musician justinbieber 23,817,614 20,279,386 3,538,228 14.86%
4 Camposwell Social Strategist camposwell 5,509,954 2,225,650 3,284,304 59.61%
5 Akon Musician akon 4,375,631 1,916,385 2,459,246 56.20%
6 Kinggoldchains Musician kinggoldchains 5,691,934 3,564,711 2,127,223 37.37%
7 Ariana Grande Musician arianagrande 21,748,827 20,219,621 1,529,206 7.03%
8 Kim Kardashian B-List Celebrity kimkardashian 23,519,002 22,218,039 1,300,963 5.53%
9 Badgalriri Musician badgalriri 14,454,434 13,294,570 1,159,864 8.02%
10 Selena Gomez B-List Celebrity selenagomez 19,572,601 18,456,569 1,116,032 5.70%
11 P.Diddy Musician iamdiddy 4,668,132 3,618,449 1,049,683 22.49%
12 Kendall Jenner C-List Celebrity kendalljenner 17,048,332 16,141,435 906,897 5.32%
13 Bruno Mars Musician brunomars 3,692,756 2,811,373 881,383 23.87%
14 Beyonce Musician beyonce 22,207,790 21,375,819 831,971 3.75%
15 Kylie Jenner C-List Celebrity kyliejenner 15,651,311 14,824,782 826,529 5.28%
16 Harry Styles Musician harrystyles 10,195,045 9,375,270 819,775 8.04%
17 Niallhoran Musician niallhoran 8,714,813 7,966,110 748,703 8.59%
18 Khloe Kardashian C-List Celebrity khloekardashian 15,929,263 15,180,994 748,269 4.70%
19 Taylor Swift Musician taylorswift 16,540,314 15,814,935 725,379 4.39%
20 Miley Cyrus Musician mileycyrus 14,143,315 13,431,417 711,898 5.03%
21 Kourtney Kardashian C-List Celebrity kourtneykardash 13,119,514 12,499,231 620,283 4.73%
22 Kevin Hart Comedian kevinhart4real 10,224,161 9,630,725 593,436 5.80%
23 Champagnepapi Musician champagnepapi 7,186,336 6,618,951 567,385 7.90%
24 Nash Grier Musician nashgrier 7,403,333 6,857,631 545,702 7.37%
25 Onedirection Musician onedirection 7,577,598 7,047,506 530,092 7.00%
26 Chris Brown Musician chrisbrownofficial 6,826,089 6,304,308 521,781 7.64%
27 Bellathorne Actor bellathorne 3,850,191 3,347,584 502,607 13.05%
28 Austinmahone Musician austinmahone 5,655,532 5,164,490 491,042 8.68%
29 Nicki Minaj Musician nickiminaj 12,439,081 11,953,782 485,299 3.90%
30 Lebron James Sports kingjames 8,063,441 7,610,130 453,311 5.62%
31 Ddlovato Musician ddlovato 9,551,616 9,122,803 428,813 4.49%
32 Louist91 louist91 4,031,168 3,640,868 390,300 9.68%
33 Zendaya Musican zendaya 4,873,068 4,492,101 380,967 7.82%
34 Snookinic C-List Celebrity snookinic 5,191,164 4,813,048 378,116 7.28%
35 Caradelevingne Model caradelevingne 8,940,680 8,563,676 377,004 4.22%
36 Lady Gaga Musician ladygaga 5,007,485 4,639,561 367,924 7.35%
37 Bethanynoelm YouTuber bethanynoelm 4,524,505 4,172,836 351,669 7.77%
38 Channing Tatum Actor channingtatum 4,654,828 4,308,597 346,231 7.44%
39 Mistercap Musician mistercap 4,903,134 4,570,811 332,323 6.78%
40 Itsashbenzo Actor itsashbenzo 5,621,641 5,295,690 325,951 5.80%
41 Lucy Hale Musician lucyhale 5,561,316 5,250,756 310,560 5.58%
42 Neymar Jr Sports neymarjr 13,272,600 12,974,188 298,412 2.25%
43 Cristiano Ronaldo Sports cristiano 10,263,581 9,965,591 297,990 2.90%
44 Ciara Musician ciara 4,650,235 4,353,990 296,245 6.37%
45 Floyd Mayweather Sports floydmayweather 4,627,329 4,336,010 291,319 6.30%
46 Katy Perry Musician katyperry 11,108,224 10,817,654 290,570 2.62%
47 Camerondallas Actor camerondallas 5,614,937 5,326,102 288,835 5.14%
48 Shaym Actor shaym 5,040,478 4,770,239 270,239 5.36%
49 The Ellen Show Televison theellenshow 7,739,483 7,469,834 269,649 3.48%
50 Nike Brand nike 9,006,215 8,749,666 256,549 2.85%
51 Snoop Dogg Musician snoopdogg 4,191,449 3,937,390 254,059 6.06%
52 Thenewclassic Musician thenewclassic 6,054,780 5,803,844 250,936 4.14%
53 Vanessa Hudgens Musician vanessahudgens 6,124,723 5,874,699 250,024 4.08%
54 Forever21 Brand forever21 5,576,562 5,331,352 245,210 4.40%
55 Justin Timberlake Musician justintimberlake 6,560,785 6,318,045 242,740 3.70%
56 Easymoneysniper Athlete easymoneysniper 4,138,353 3,902,113 236,240 5.71%
57 Mirandakerr Model mirandakerr 5,504,063 5,268,189 235,874 4.29%
58 Letthelordbewithyou C-List Celebrity letthelordbewithyou 6,348,384 6,118,183 230,201 3.63%
59 Natgeo Brand natgeo 9,980,528 9,751,562 228,966 2.29%
60 The Rock Actor therock 6,260,064 6,037,093 222,971 3.56%
61 Kris Jenner C-List Celebrity krisjenner 5,041,485 4,825,316 216,169 4.29%
62 Barack Obama Politican barackobama 3,722,082 3,509,032 213,050 5.72%
63 50 Cent Musician 50cent 3,859,504 3,653,666 205,838 5.33%
64 Ritaora Musician ritaora 3,876,393 3,670,813 205,580 5.30%
65 Leo Messi Sports leomessi 8,523,502 8,319,316 204,186 2.40%
66 Jessica Alba Actor jessicaalba 4,358,359 4,154,344 204,015 4.68%
67 Nba Sports nba 4,343,680 4,148,149 195,531 4.50%
68 Bestvines Brand bestvines 4,516,400 4,322,234 194,166 4.30%
69 Jen Selter C-List Celebrity jenselter 5,096,193 4,914,098 182,095 3.57%
70 Zozeebo Blogger zozeebo 3,653,799 3,473,304 180,495 4.94%
71 Angelcandices Model angelcandices 4,584,613 4,408,116 176,497 3.85%
72 Elliegoulding Musician elliegoulding 4,007,960 3,833,754 174,206 4.35%
73 Sleepinthegardn Actor sleepinthegardn 3,691,728 3,518,315 173,413 4.70%
74 Pharrell Musician pharrell 4,304,162 4,138,225 165,937 3.86%
75 Laurenconrad Actor laurenconrad 3,888,622 3,722,955 165,667 4.26%
76 Britney Spears Musician britneyspears 3,909,426 3,744,529 164,897 4.22%
77 Real Madrid Sports realmadrid 5,521,290 5,362,564 158,726 2.87%
78 Zac Efron Actor zacefron 3,920,179 3,772,762 147,417 3.76%
79 Shakira Musician shakira 5,591,652 5,450,413 141,239 2.53%
80 Adriana Lima Model adrianalima 3,876,151 3,739,163 136,988 3.53%
81 Nina Dobrev Actor ninadobrev 3,935,148 3,799,668 135,480 3.44%
82 Jennifer Lopez Musician jlo 8,041,983 7,908,825 133,158 1.66%
83 F.C. Barcelona Sports fcbarcelona 5,462,049 5,329,388 132,661 2.43%
84 Brumarquezine Actor brumarquezine 5,585,337 5,457,218 128,119 2.29%
85 Iansomerhalder Actor iansomerhalder 4,026,425 3,898,565 127,860 3.18%
86 Hm Retailer hm 4,673,188 4,545,442 127,746 2.73%
87 9Gag Website 9gag 8,503,713 8,383,902 119,811 1.41%
88 Sarcasm_Only sarcasm_only 3,794,553 3,685,843 108,710 2.86%
89 Anselelgort Actor anselelgort 4,269,290 4,161,545 107,745 2.52%
90 Louis Vuitton Fashion louisvuitton 3,660,373 3,553,633 106,740 2.92%
91 Adidas Brand adidasoriginals 3,698,841 3,597,474 101,367 2.74%
92 David Luiz Sports davidluiz_4 5,578,437 5,479,885 98,552 1.77%
93 Danbilzerian Actor danbilzerian 5,897,718 5,799,807 97,911 1.66%
94 Gopro Brand gopro 3,737,936 3,644,067 93,869 2.51%
95 Fakeliampayne Musician fakeliampayne 3,822,596 3,734,258 88,338 2.31%
96 Nature Brand nature 3,917,903 3,830,410 87,493 2.23%
97 Nailsartvidss Brand nailsartvidss 4,787,590 4,717,885 69,705 1.46%
98 Garethbale11 Sports garethbale11 4,101,657 4,035,611 66,046 1.61%
99 James Rodriguez Sports jamesrodriguez10 5,784,232 5,730,013 54,219 0.94%
100 Nailsvideos nailsvideos 3,627,215 3,603,999 23,216 0.64%

Instead of buying fake Instagram followers, grow your following organically (or with paid ads). A true following is made up of people who can convert – and conversions are the end game when it comes to Instagram marketing. How can you do that?

Manage and Grow Your Instagram Account with Socialdraft

[fve]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D6JjnyZ9V_Y[/fve]

In order to grow and nurture your Instagram audience, you must do a few things. First, you must post on a consistent basis. Daily posts are ideal. Why? Instagram is based on people engaging your posts. If people engage your posts, then Instagram will prioritize your content over other people they follow. If you aren’t posting, you’re not giving them a reason to engage you and your organic reach will drop.

Use the right hashtags. Hashtags are Instagram SEO. Think about your audience and what hashtags they would use to find content like yours. Think about what hashtags they would use that would lead them to you and get them to convert. Use these hashtags. We’ve got plenty of articles on this to get you started.

Engage. You can’t rest on your laurels waiting for people to come to you. Search for the people you want to convert and engage them. Start by following them, like their posts and then comment on them. You can do all this on Socialdraft dash, your all-in-one Instagram management tool. With Socialdraft, you can:

  • Schedule posts to multiple Instagram accounts
  • Have multiple people create and post content
  • Search hashtags
  • Like posts
  • Follow content creators
  • Repost images to all your connected social networks
  • Clean up people who don’t follow you
  • and manage all your other social media

If you’re curious about how Socialdraft works, take us for a risk-free trial.